Abbott’s School Choice Plan Likely with Texas House Incumbents Ousted

DALLAS – Changes in the makeup of the Texas House emerged following Tuesday’s primary runoff election, with several Republican incumbents facing defeats, potentially impacting Gov. Greg Abbott’s school voucher plan.

Six of the eight Republican House members who faced runoffs were ousted, including some from North Texas, most of whom opposed Abbott’s school voucher proposal.

In District 33, Justin Holland lost his re-nomination bid to Katrina Pierson, former spokeswoman for former President Donald Trump’s campaign, securing a significant victory in Rockwall County and part of Collin County.

In District 58, incumbent Dewayne Burns lost to conservative activist Helen Kerwin 58% to 42% in Johnson and Somervell counties. Burns was opposed by both Abbott and Attorney General Ken Paxton due to his vote to impeach Paxton last year.

In District 61, incumbent Frederick Frazier lost by over a 2 to 1 margin to Keresa Richardson in Collin County. Despite Abbott’s endorsement for his support of school vouchers, Paxton campaigned against Frazier over his impeachment vote.

In District 64, incumbent Lynn Stucky, backed by Abbott, lost to Andy Hopper, a conservative activist, due to his vote for impeachment, supported by Paxton.

In District 91, incumbent Stephanie Klick lost to David Lowe in Tarrant County. Klick, endorsed by Abbott, faced opposition from Paxton.

The runoff results reflect a shift in support towards candidates advocating for school choice, a priority for Abbott. He sees the outcomes as a victory, suggesting that Texans want school choice, potentially clearing the path for his voucher program.

In another notable runoff race, House Speaker Dade Phelan narrowly defeated David Covey in District 21 in the Beaumont area. Phelan’s win is significant, although the low turnout for the runoff election in Dallas County indicates limited voter participation.

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments